Shobhana Bhartia

Chairperson and Editorial Director, HT Media Limited

Chairperson and Editorial Director, HT Media. Shobhana is a recipient of the prestigious Padma Shri for Excellence in Journalism in 2005, a National Award given by the Government of India for contribution to a specific subject. She was a presidential nominee of the Rajya Sabha, the Upper House of the Parliament in India from 2006-2012. She was also a member of the Standing Committees in the Parliament on Energy, Women Empowerment, and Human Resource Development Other Leadership & Governance Roles • Member, International Advisory Board, Blavatnik School of Government, Oxford University • Member, Board of Columbia Journalism School, New York • Pro Chancellor of Birla Institute of Technology and Science, Pilani • Chairperson (2007): Audit Bureau of Circulation • Member, Alliance of Civilizations (2006): Special group formed by Secretary General, United Nations • Chairperson (1996-98 & 2005-06): Press Trust of India • Member, Board of Directors (1987-89): Indian Airlines • Member, Board of Governors (1987-89): National Institute of Fashion Technology and National Institute of Design Awards & Recognitions  Officier de l’Ordre National de la Légion d’Honneur (2016) French Republic’s highest civilian award in recognition of outstanding contribution to the world of journalism  Global Leadership Award (2015) - US-India Business Council  Media Person of the Year (2012) - IAA Leadership Awards in recognition of Leadership, Foresight, and Achievement  Businesswoman of the Year (2007) - The Economic Times  Entrepreneur of the Year (2005) - Ernst & Young  Global Leader of Tomorrow (1996) - World Economic Forum