Jennifer Rupp

Professor of Electrochemical Materials; Group Head, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)

Prof. Dr. Jennifer Rupp is new elected professor of Electrochemical Materials at MIT in USA, and currently also at ETH Zurich Switzerland. Born in Germany in 1980, Jennifer Rupp studied at the University of Vienna in Austria mineralogy and crystallography and received her PhD in material science at the ETH Zurich in Switzerland. From 2007 until end of 2010 she was group leader and senior scientist at ETH Zurich. During this period in Zurich, she worked on ionic transportstructure relations and crystallization kinetics for solid state ionic conductor thin films, micro-solid oxide fuel cells their microfabrication, electrochemistry and system aspects. In 2011 she was for a short period researcher at the National Institute of Materials Science (NIMS) in Tsukuba Japan working on oxide memristors for information storage, strain-charge transport interaction in mixed ionic electronic conductors and protonic fuel cells and materials. From spring 2011 to mid 20 12 she joined the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) working on solid oxide fuel cell and resistive switching device related topics. Currently, she is the chair of Electrochemical Materials and holds two externally funded assistant professorship career-grants (non tenure-track): the SNSF (ERC) Starting Grant (2015-2020) on "Beyond von-Neuman computing – Materials Functionalization and Integration of Three-dimensionally stacked Multiterminal Memristive Oxides Replacing Existing Transistors for Neuromorphic Computing" and the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNF) professorship entitled “redox-based resistance switching memories” (2012-2016). Also, she is a guest associate professor at Kyushu University Japan (2011- open) and the International Institute for Carbon-Neutral Energy Research (I2CNER) Japan (2013-open), is an elected member of the European Academy of Science for Chemistry (2012-2018), and on the editorial board of the Jou rnal of Electroceramics, Springer. She holds a mandate by the Swiss Federal Department of Environment, Transport, Energy and Communication to serve as a member on the new Swiss CO2 Energy Technology-funding board on invitation by Federal Councillor Doris Leuthard (2015-2017). Awards include the invitation as a keynote speaker at the Nature Conference on Materials for Energy 2016 in Wuhan, China, the recent nomination as one of the top 40 international scientists under the age of 40 to speak at the World Economic Forum (WEF) in China on new innovative Materials and Devices for Global Energy Challenges in 2014 and re-invitation to the WEF for 2015, the Spark Award by ETH Zurich for the most innovative and economically important invention of the year for a new memristor information storage concept in 2014, Kepler award “new materials in energy technology” by the European Academy of Science, 1st prize Young Scientist Awards by the International Solid State Ionics Society, ETH Zurich`s Medal for PhD excellence, 1st prize Austrian Chemical Society award for her diploma thesis. Her main research interests are on materials development and structure-transport relations for information memory storage and logic, microsystems and energy conversion and storage systems. This includes materials fabrication, new device design concepts and performance engineering for batteries, solid state energy convertors, resistive switches or efficient transfer of solar energy to higher chemicals.