Flemming Besenbacher

Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Carlsberg Group

Flemming Besenbacher is a professor of nanoscience at Aarhus University, and he was the founding director of the Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO) from 2002-2012. Prof. Besenbacher is chairman of the Carlsberg Group, the Carlsberg Foundation, and Aarhus Water A/S. Prof. Besenbacher is also deputy chairman of Innovation Fund Denmark and board member of Unisense A/S. In 2016, Prof. Besenbacher was appointed both chairman of the Danish government’s Advisory Board for Circular Economy, member of the Danish government’s Digital Growth Panel, and member of the Danish Ministry of Taxation’s advisory panel for succession planning in commercial foundations. In 2019, he was also appointed chairman of the Danish Think Tank on Food Loss and Food Waste. Prof. Besenbacher sits on several advisory boards related to the UN Sustainable Development Goals and he is chairman of the non-profit organization UNLEASH.

Prof. Besenbacher is an international leading scientist within the field of nanoscience, and he has published more than 730 scientific articles in international journals such as Science and Nature. He is one of the most cited Danish scientists with more than 41,500 citations and an H-factor of 104. Furthermore, Prof. Besenbacher is honorary doctor at 17 Chinese universities, and he has received several distinctions in Denmark and abroad for his research, for instance “The Chinese Government Highest International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award” of the People’s Republic of China.
He is foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (Academician) and holds the title of Commander of the Order of Dannebrog.