Jacqueline McGlade

Professor, University College London (UCL)

Jacqueline McGlade FLS, FRSA is Professor of Natural Prosperity at the Institute for Global Prosperity and Faculty of Engineering at University College London, UK, Frank Jackson Professor of the Environment at Gresham College and Professor of International Public Policy and Governance at Strathmore University Business School, Kenya. She is Chief Scientist for Downforce Technologies, a start-up technology that has developed EcoBalance which calculates and provide location based information on the health of agricultural lands and systems globally. Her expertise is in nature based solutions to climate adaptation and mitigation, ocean and human health, the circular bioeconomy, earth observations and ecosystem modelling and the impacts of pollution on human and ecosystem health, and intergenerational prosperity. She has designed geospatial, fuzzy logic and AI platforms for decision-making under high degrees of uncertainty.

Previously she was UN Environment’s Chief Scientist, Director of Science and Chief Statistician, Executive Director of the European Environment Agency, Director of the UK Centre for Coastal and Marine Sciences, Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Warwick, Director of Theoretical Ecology at the FZ Jülich and Senior Scientist in the Fisheries and Oceans, Federal Government of Canada. She has been a Board member of the Environment Agency (England and Wales), and currently advises the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the UK Space Agencies, Open Government Platform and the Wellbeing Economy Alliance.

She has published more than 200 research publications and books, produced award winning films and radio series (ABC Ocean Planet, Planet reThink, Our Arctic Challenge, Environmental Film Atlas, BBC 4 Nature’s Numbers, Chaos, Ocean Planet, Sustaining Life, The Life Scientific ) and awards for her science (Knight of the Order of St James (Monaco); 2013 Global Citizen; 2017 Geospatial Ambassador, Il monitor del Giardino Award (Italy); Masaryk Gold Medal (Czech Republic); 1992 Minerva Prize (Germany); 1991 Jubileum Award (Sweden).





  • 登录
  • 加入我们



© 2024 世界经济论坛